2022 News

Dean Kathy Giacomini covers the School’s latest accomplishments and outlines her plans for the School’s future
Shoichet, Giacomini, Krogan, and Manglik
Four School of Pharmacy faculty members rank in the top 1 percent of researchers for their highly cited work
Genentech headquarters
New program to sponsor two graduate students from underrepresented backgrounds annually
Krogan and Cole
QBI Director Krogan receives the Legion of Honor, France’s highest award
An aerial view of San Francisco
Giacomini gathers a leadership team in pursuit of a new vision for the School of Pharmacy.
Shoichet’s “docking” approach continues to produce better drugs with fewer side effects.
Manglik and Cheng
Manglik, Cheng, and colleagues break decades-long impasse in understanding a common autoimmune disorder.
Charles Craik
UCSF researchers use combination therapy to expose cancerous protein targets to the immune system 
Tsai wearing a laboratory coat and standing next to laboratory equipment
School scientists make headway against antibiotic-resistant bacteria
James Wells
Wells reflects on his trailblazing career in protein engineering
Esteemed UCSF scientist joins leading scientific research group
New dean aims to elevate the pharmacy profession
The Alzheimer's disease brain, with build ups of tau protein on the inside and beta amyloid protein on the outside
Pharmaceutical chemist Arkin and neurologist Grinberg discover a new protein aggregate in Alzheimer’s disease.
A researcher injects fluid into containers
Award is the largest NIH grant in UCSF history
Interim Dean Thomas Kearney provides the latest on the School’s activities and announces the selection of the next dean, Kathy Giacomini, PhD
Renowned pharmaceutical scientist brings decades of experience at the intersection of research, patient care, and education to lead the School
This year’s Distinguished Alum found a career’s worth of inspiration from formative experiences in pharmacy school
Guglielmo leaves a legacy spanning pharmacy, science, sustainability, and DEI.
This year’s Seed Awards will support projects ranging from the discovery sciences and patient care to sustainability and diversity, equity, and inclusion
Ahituv and Inoue
School research into health, disease, and medicine earned the most NIH research dollars of any U.S. pharmacy school for the 42nd consecutive year.
The search for the School’s next dean is ongoing.
Gartner holding a petri dish
Gartner, Huang, Manglik, Kortemme, Savic, and Shipman honored for visionary research endeavors